Friday, March 13, 2009

Paisley Hanover Acts Out by Cameron Tuttle


On the first day of her sophomore year in high school, Paisley Hanover walks into her Yearbook class (invitation only and one way ticket to A-list popularity) confident in her ability to get straight A's, become the sophomore class vice president, and be the best soccer player.

Paisley walks out of her Yearbook class being demoted to Drama in an incident that ends with spastic jazz hands (seriously spastic jazz hands). Her one way ticket to A list popularity has ended with a year long trip to the land of "extras": students so unpopular, no one knows who they are.

Paisley's sophomore year is not going to be the great year she expected it to be. However, with her awesome sense of humor (be on the look out for "side bras- her miss-type of "side bar"), and some great friends (okay, they may not always be there for her), what looks like it might be the worst year ever might just be the best year ever.

My favorite part of the book is Paisley's "Not Book" (think note book with the "e" crossed out). A separate book that mirrors the real story with Paisley's thoughts and drawings. In an unrelated side note, I totally had to keep a notebook in high school, that looked kind of similar (Okay, I was a total band geek, and no where near as cool as Paisley or her friends, but I can dream right?).

Paisley Hanover is the perfect antidote to a reading diet consisting of Gossip Girl and the Luxe books (both which I love, but do need a break from). Recommended for fans of books like Paula Yoo's Good Enough and Catherine Murdock's Dairy Queen.

I'll see you @ the library!
Katie (Trying to read Venomous by Christopher Krovatin and The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. So many books, so little time!)