Tuesday, June 23, 2009

Book Review: Love You Hate You Miss You by Elizabeth Scott


Amy has just been released from Pinewood, a rehab center. She misses Julia and Julia is gone. After living a life where her parents ignored her, Julia became her family. Shy and awkward, Amy turned to alcohol to feel confident and more sure of her self. That is why she was in Pinewood, and now Julia is gone.

Amy is a girl who is not sure what the people around her expect, and who has been through a traumatic experience. Her parents were never there for her (or so she thought) and she shut her world to just be about her and Julia. Now without Julia, she has to figure out her way. This includes a guy who seems just as messed up as she is, and an old friend, or enemy. High School isn't easy to being with, and now without Julia it seems impossible.

Author Elizabeth Scott always amazes me with her different books. I was amazed by Stealing Heaven, thoroughly disturbed with Living Dead Girl, and Love You Hate You Miss You was another complete different (and still excellent) direction.

Love You Hate You Miss You is for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, Sarah Dessen and realistic books that have a little bit of romance, and a lot of drama. We were lucky to get a copy of the book donated, so look for it in the selection of books you can win this summer!

I'll see you @ the library!
Katie (Still waiting for some more excellent Teen Reads to come in for me this summer!)