Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Book Review: Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford


It's the end of summer, and Carter can not wait to start high school. Of course it would be easier to start high school with a hot girlfriend and a starring role on the football team, but Carter's inability to pay attention, ADD and stuttering may hurt his chances at being a big man on campus.

Carter shares his freshman year in high school with us, giving us glimpses of the crazy things that happen to him. These events will have you giggling, laughing and the all-out-rolling-on-the-floor- busting-your-gut, making people ask you "what are you reading?" My personal favorite is a date going sour due to a Taco Bell burrito, and a misguided dive that almost gives Carter with an unfortunate nickname.

Carter makes it through his freshman year, with some ups and downs, and ends the school year on a high note. Along the way you will meet his friends, his sister, his girlfriends and his poor parents. This is one realistic fiction book that will have you laughing from page one to the end.

I highly recommend this book to fans of humorous fiction. And to quote the back of the book "Warning: This book contains lewd humor, underage drinking, illicit fantasizing and very bad decision-making" (note to concerned parents out there, yes Carter is a typical freshman boy in thoughts and action, however like most freshman boys, it's a lot of talk and a little action).

I'll see you @ the library!
Katie (Reading Swim The Fly, which is a great read-a-like for Carter!)