Monday, April 19, 2010

Book Review: The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson


17-year-old Lennie is back at school after the sudden death of her older sister. She's unsure of how to act now that her sister is gone. School is just as she expects it, people whispering as she walks by, no one sure what to tell her. Except for Joe Fontaine, the new boy who lived in France, plays in a band called Dive and who has a smile that makes Lennie forget that she is supposed to be mourning.

Lennie's life used to revolve around Bailey and music. However with Bailey gone, she doesn't want to play her clarinet and she won't talk to anyone or pack up Bailey's belongings. Lennie writes poems and notes that she leaves under rocks, on tress and gives to the wind.

Lennie's grandmother, her Uncle Big, and best friend Sarah are all there for her, encouraging her move on. Her struggle to remember Bailey brings her closer to Toby, Bailey's boyfriend, however she is also drawn to Joe, and his mega-watt smile. In her world of music, plants and trees, Lennie starts to move on from her sisters death to her own life.

The Sky is Everywhere is author Jandy's Nelson's first book, and I can not wait for her to write more. Fans of Sarah Dessen, Elizabeth Scott and Laurie Halse Anderson will enjoy the drama and romance with a twist of eccentric family.

I'll see you @ the library!
Katie (Now reading Will Grayson Will Grayson, FINALLY!)